| Take
great care before you advertise :
Holiday home website payment scams for advertisers In
April 2006 a
jmlvillas.com advertiser contacted us by email regarding
the problems she had with a "competitor" site. We are copying below
a transcript of her email removing her identity and the identity of the website
organisation in question.This advertiser is a genuine advertiser on jmlvillas.com
and her property listed since August 2005.
Wednesday,
April 05, 2006 11:44 AM Subject: scam targeting property owners Dear
Sir/Madam, I am one of your clients: ID XXX. I have just fallen pray to a scam
targeting holiday rental property owners. I was approached by a company called
www.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com offering:
Dear
Holiday Home Owner, Agent or Manager, XXXXXXXXX.com
are offering you the chance to advertise your vacation accommodation on our fantastic,
user friendly website. We only choose the very best accommodation from around
the world. We consider your property to be of this required high standard. We
welcome B&B, Villas, Chalets, Gite, Caravans, Cottages and Hotels alike!
For
a limited time, we are offering you the chance to advertise your property for
12 months FOR JUST £25 (approx $50 USA). WHY
IS IT CHEAPER THAN USUAL? We usually charge £75.00 for a year\'s advertising
but have selected certain areas of our site that are not as full as we like and
are simply offering a significantly reduced, 12 month advertisement to owners
in these areas! You can upload as many properties as you wish (£25 each) and if
you have any friends with properties, please feel free to email us with their
details so we can consider them too! At the end of the 12 month period there will
be no obligation for a further year, although we do hope you will stay with us!
Existing
customers will be offered a renewal in 2007 on the website
for just £40 per property but again, there is NO obligation.
If
you are interested, please either reply to this email with your contact phone
number or, to get started straight away, simply click on or cut and paste the
link below into your web browser, log in with the username and password given
below and enter your credit or debit card details, then press "go", you will be
notified immediately if your transaction has been successful. On receipt of payment
we will contact you by email with a username and password for your advertisement
as well as instructions for uploading your property details to our website. Your
advertisment will be as per a full priced advert, i.e, fully managed by yourself,
6 colour pictures, unlimited text, free inclusion on the home
page and free inclusion in specialist listings, i.e. ski etc.
For
a limited time we are also offering owners of rental properties free inclusion
in our "members only" Holiday Swap (Vacation Exchange) scheme. The usual price
of the Holiday Swap 12 month membership is also £75.00 so you are saving even
more money!!! Don't delay, reply today and get swapping properties and renting
out your holiday property MAKING
A PAYMENT - WE ACCEPT CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS, PAYPAL, CHEQUE OR POSTAL ORDERS!
IMPORTANT:
without your email address we cannot process any payments so please ensure this
is completed on the payment form. USING
A CREDIT/DEBIT CARD ONLINE: log
on to: https://worldaccess.worldpay.com/XX/XX (copy and paste this link into your
browser) username:
XXXpayment password: XXXXXX PAYING
WITH PAYPAL: if you have a paypal account, you can pay us direct with the email
address: info@xxxxxxxxxx.com PAYING
WITH A CHEQUE/POSTAL ORDER: If you would prefer to send a cheque or postal order
please make it payable to: XXXX XXXXX XXXX Ltd and post to: XXXXXXXX.com, X XXXXX,
XXXX, postcode, UK. We regret that only payments in Pounds Sterling can be accepted
in this way. If
you would like further information please email us. We
look forward to working with you soon. Regards
Xxx Xxxxx Customer Services Dept XXXXXXXXXX.com
t: +44 (0) 800 XXX XXXX (from inside the UK) or 00 44 XXXX XXXXX (from outside
UK) The
website itself looked very impressive and genuine, they even answered my queries
about their service. They offer lots of ways on how to pay them - Chq, Paypal,
World Pay etc. After I paid the money absolutely nothing happened. They have a
customer service number which answers but they offer to get back to you and, of
course never do. By now they have also stopped me from accessing their website.
No
doubt they are still running, conning property owners and netting millions.
As
they give other genuine sites like yours a bad name I was wondering whether you
could warn your other clients so that more people do not become victims of this
scam. I have reported them to Watchdog and if they get lots of other complaints
they might investigate. Yours
sincerely Jxxxx Sxxxx We
replied and offered to submit the details to a warning page for her and we received
the following reply. 06
April 2006 10:30 Hello,
Thank you very much for your reply. Sorry that you had trouble getting through.
They
contacted me by e-mail saying that they are making a reduced offer because they
do not have enough properties in my area (Costa de la Luz). I then asked them
questions about their business, checked their site and checked their customer
services telephone number. It was answered as 'XXXXX'.They took a message and
I was called by Xxx Xxxxx. (Customer
Services Dept) I
paid £25 by Visa ( I am in the process of trying to stop the payment).
I
was told by (another major advertising portal name removed)
that some of their clients have also been scammed. I
am glad to report that in the last 2 days or so they have actually been taken
off Yahoo and Google.
Regards
Jxxxx jml
Property Services (Jeffrey Milner Ltd - established in 1979 in England) went
into the self catering online advertising business for owners of holiday properties
in 2001 when we set up euro-rentavilla.com.
At that time there were not many sites offering this type of service. Since then
there are numerous sites worldwide. Many have come and gone and Philip Suter personally
was offered "Free advertising" for his holiday home property in 2004.
Six months later the site was gone! Our original site euro-rentavilla.com
has been re-branded as jmlvillas.com
and
a great improvement on the original variations. The
original euro-rentavilla.com
site
is very much still alive and directs traffic to jmlvillas.com
(you
are in fact on the
euro-rentavilla.com
site
at present) and we re-branded with a much more user friendly name to take on holiday
properties world wide. If you decide to use additional web site portals take some
care and check out their PR ranking and how long the organiasation running them
has been established for. ________________________________________________________________________
Scamster
targets holiday property owners - TheMoveChannel.com has heard of a scam that
is running around the holiday lettings industry. June 2005 An
e-mail based scam from what seems to be a professional con-man is doing the rounds
aimed at holiday property owners. Many
holiday property owners let out their property via third-party internet advertising
firms and one such, Rentalsofspain.com is advising its property owners of a scam
that’s starts as an enquiry from abroad. The
initial enquiry is fairly straightforward, although slightly tricky in that it
purports to come from an agent who claims to have guests for the property. It
asks for a ‘grand total’ price for the property for the weeks indicated. After
a while, this is followed by a confirmatory e-mail, thanking you for your assistance
saying he has taken payment from the guests and adding a rider that the guests
need car hire from a specialist firm. He says he will send you credit card details
that will cover the cost of the property and the car hire and asks that you deal
with the total sum and send the balance of the money to the car hire firm. Don’t
do it! -
Like all scams that ask you to collect money on somebody else’s behalf, you will
be left out of pocket (and maybe your bank account details stolen as well) when
the original payment does not materialise or is reversed by the bank These
con-men are very clever, and no doubt there are further episodes to this story,
but as the scam is going round right now, we at TheMoveChannel are warning to
leave this enquiry alone from the start to avoid getting pulled in by the scamsters
guile.
________________________________________________________________________
CLICK
HERE for Rental Scams in Holiday Home Letting
CLICK
HERE to return to Information for Property Owners at
jmlvillas.com
or CLICK
HERE to return to Check List for Owners at euro-rentavilla.com
site or
CLICK HERE
to Return to "Advertise on jmlvillas.com" ___________________________ Advertise
your holiday vacation home property
at - jmlvillas.com No
Commission or booking fees for owners or renters 
the
low cost villa advertising service
-
Web site
advertised in Holiday Magazines internationally -
6
photos per ad - change them
whenever you like -
You
load up your own details -including availability, prices & photos.
-
You
change your details and prices and availability whenever you want by using your
own password. -
Live
link to your personal website -
Excellent
search facilities -
Main
European and worldwide iholiday destinations covered. If the country is
not already listed - we will add it. -
Advice
for property owners and renters on the site -
Payment
accepted by secure credit card on line - FREE
ADVERTISING in addition on local sites
when a property is located in England, France(English and French), Scotland, South
of France and Wales
CLICK
HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
Find
jml on twitter
jml
Insurance | jml
villas | jml
Training |insurance4carrental
Find
jml on facebook jml
villas | jml
Insurance
jml
Property Services are members of the NLA - National Landlords Association in the
UK and BCC, Cote d'Azur - France
--- 
|